HEALTH WORKS COMMISSION

MEETING MINUTES

May 12, 2016 • 10:00 A.M.

LSU System Office • 3810 West Lakeshore Drive • Baton Rouge, LA

The meeting of the Health Works Commission convened at 10:15 a.m. on Thursday, May 12, in the Board Room at the LSU System Office, Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Dr. Larry Tremblay stated that the chair, Laurie Fontenot, had left public higher education and thus the Commission needed a chair for the meeting. He could chair the meeting or Cynthia Bienemy (Chair, NSDC) or Paula Hellums (Chair, Simulation Council) could chair until the Commission elected a chair.

On motion of Paula Hellums, seconded by Cynthia Bienemy, the Health Works Commission voted to approve Dr. Tremblay as the interim chair for the meeting.

In the absence of a chair, Dr. Tremblay called the meeting of the Health Works Commission to order. Roll was called, and a quorum of the Commission was established.

Commission Members Present

Mignonne Ater

LA Community & Technical College System

Mary Ann Coleman

LA Association of Independent Colleges &

Universities

Paula Hellums

Simulation Medical Training and Education Council(ex officio)

Ram Paragi

Medical Education Commission

Avis Richard-Griffin

Department of Health and Hospitals

Executive Committee Members Present

Cynthia Bienemy

Nursing Supply and Demand Council

Rita Finn

LA Nursing Home Association

Edward Martin

Interagency Task Force on Future of Family

Medicine

Joseph McCulloch

LSUHSC-Shreveport

Larry Tremblay

Louisiana Board of Regents

Executive Committee Members Absent

Sean Graham

LA State Medical Society

Paul Salles

LA Hospital Association

Commission Members Absent

Lynn Ansardi

LA State Board of Practical Nurse Examiners

Nancy Davis

LA State Board of Nursing

Ava DeJoie

Louisiana Workforce Commission

Lauren Gleason

Governor's Office

Dr. Henry Gremillion

LSUHSC School of Dentistry

Senator Fred Mills, Jr.

Senate Committee on Health & Welfare

Charles Moniette

Occupational Forecasting Conference

Guests

Kathy Hoyt

Board of Regents

Health Works Commission Executive Committee Meeting May 12, 2016 Page Two

Dr. Tremblay asked for a motion to add two items under Other Business: Item B., Executive Committee Discussion, and Item C., 2016 Funding Proposals.

On motion of Joe McCulloch, seconded by Mary Ann Coleman, the Commission voted to add two items under Other Business: Item B., Executive Committee Discussion and Item C., 2016 Funding Proposals.

Approval of October 13, 2015 Minutes

The minutes of the October 13, 2015 meeting were reviewed and corrections and edits were noted.

On motion of Ed Martin, seconded by Joe McCulloch, the Health Works Commission voted to approve as amended the minutes of the August 18, 2015 meeting.

Election of Health Works Commission Chair

Dr. Tremblay noted that typically the Chair has been a chair of one of the Councils; that is not a requirement, then asked for nominations from members. A discussion of Dr. Tremblay as a possible candidate followed; he declined based on a possible conflict of interest. The primary function of the chair is to work with the Board of Regents, ensure clarity regarding contracts, setting the agenda and then running the meeting. Discussion of nomination options followed, with Cynthia Bienemy, as Interim Chair of the Nursing Supply and Demand Council, mentioned as a possible Chair and Paula Hellums, Chair of the Simulation Council, as Vice Chair.

On motion of Joe McCulloch, seconded by Ed Martin, the Commission voted to appoint Cynthia Bienemy as Interim Chair pending final determination of the Chair of the Nursing Supply and Demand Council and Paula Hellums as Vice Chair of the Health Works Commission as the Chair of the Simulation Medical Education and Training Council.

Review and Approval of Nursing Supply and Demand Council 2015 Annual Report

Dr. Tremblay asked Cynthia Bienemy to make any remarks regarding the Report. She discussed the report, reviewing the increased demand for workforce information and initiatives, workforce proposals, training, data assistance from the Board of Regents and utilization of same data, with the ultimate goal not to be about nursing but improving the quality of healthcare for the residents of Louisiana. A lengthy discussion regarding the report followed.

On motion of Joe McCulloch, seconded by MaryAnn Coleman, the Health Works Commission voted to accept the Nursing Supply and Demand Council 2015 Annual Report.

Other Business

Dr. Tremblay informed the Commission that the first order of business was to discuss the next meeting date. A Doodle poll will be distributed regarding the next meeting date, with the specific goal of meeting in a timely fashion to discuss 2016-17 budget proposals.

Dr. Tremblay next turned to a discussion of the Executive Committee and the idea of expanding appointments to the Executive Committee. The appointments are left vacant and available to fill ad hoc with Commission members on a meeting-by-meeting basis. Dr. Tremblay said he would follow up with legal counsel regarding the composition of the Executive Committee.

Dr. Tremblay then initiated the discussion regarding the upcoming 2016-17 funding proposals. The announcement regarding funding proposals is made to the Nursing Supply and Demand Council and all the members of that Council, as well as all the members of the Health Works Commission. The 2015-16 proposals were reviewed: Tuition Reimbursement for Minority RNs Pursuing PCFNP, Recruitment and Retention Attributes Important to New Graduate Registered Nurses Employed on Adult Acute Care Medical Surgical Units; Statewide Simulation Faculty Development (SimFD), and Tuition Reimbursement for Nurse Educators, for a total of \$180,000.

Dr. Tremblay will also consult with legal counsel regarding the necessity of filing a Personal Financial Statement 2.1; members were encouraged to file this year.

Adjournment

There being no further business to come before the Commission,

On motion of Joe McCulloch, seconded by Edward Martin, the Health Works Commission voted to adjourn the meeting at 11:30 a.m.

Executive Committee Members: Laurie Fontenot, Chair; Rita Finn, Sean Graham, Edward Martin, Joe McCulloch, Paul Salles, Larry Tremblay. Non-Voting Member: Paula Hellums